Executive Board

The Executive Board of Society for Novel Studies is composed of the officers, the Editor of Novel: A Forum on Fiction (serving in an ex-officio capacity), and six members-at-large, each elected by the members of the Society for a term of four years, three posts to be filled at each biennial meeting of the Society.

The officers of the Society are a Vice President, a President, and the immediate Past President. Each holds office for two years, beginning at the conclusion of the Business Meeting at which the Vice President is elected. The Past President acts as a primary consultant to (and full voting member of) the Executive Board.

The Vice President and three at-large members of the Executive Board are nominated from members among the Society’s membership by the SNS Nominating Committee and are elected by the general membership via electronic communication.

Officers

John Plotz (becomes Immediate Past President in 2018)
President
Department of English, Brandeis University
plotz@brandeis.edu

Amanda Claybaugh (becomes President in 2018)
Vice President
Department of English, Harvard University
amanda_claybaugh@harvard.edu

Penny Fielding  (becomes VP in 2018)
Secretary/Treasurer
Department of English Literature, University of Edinburgh
Penny.Fielding@ed.ac.uk

Jonathan Arac  (2018)
Immediate Past President
Department of English, University of Pittsburgh
Jarac@pitt.edu

Ex-offico

Nancy Armstrong
Editor of NOVEL
Department of English, Duke University
n.b.armstrong@duke.edu

Board Members

Benjamin Conisbee Baer (2018)
Department of Comparative Literature, Princeton University
bencbaer@princeton.edu

Joshua Lund (2020)
Department of Romance Languages and Literature, University of Notre Dame
jlund2@nd.edu

​Venkat Mani (becomes Secretary/Treasurer in 2018)
Department of German, University of Madison-Wisconsin
bvmani@wisc.edu

Bruce Robbins (2020)
Department of English & Comparative Literature, Columbia University
bwr2001@columbia.edu

Mario Ortiz-Robles (2018)
Department of English, University of Wisconsin-Madison
mortizrobles@wisc.edu  

Rebecca L. Walkowitz (2018)
Department of English, Rutgers University
walkowit@rci.rutgers.edu

Incoming Board Members (as of June 2018)

Aarthi Vadde (2022)
Department of English, Duke University

Caroline Levine (2022)
Department of English, Cornell University

Katie Trumpener (2022)
Department of Comparative Literature, and of English, Yale University